review rating 5  Ellington Funeral Services is the best funeral home in the Charlotte Region. My family and friends loved the great attention to detail, professionalism and warm reception. During a very difficult time.. with the loss of my dear mother (RIP) the funeral home stayed so connected with me and assured me that they were standing with us to meet our funeral needs. The Funeral Director Derek Hunter was all about providing exceptional service rather than focusing on fund transfer and monetary gains. He never once asked about what will be my form of payment. The only time we ever discussed finances was the day we paid for services, which is the day before the funeral. Some funeral homes insist on deposits in advance of services and even calling life insurance companies on the client’s behalf to inquire about funds or request a claim to secure placement of your love ones. Now imagine having to deal with greedy and money conscious funeral homes during a difficult time??? Not easy going through a loss and being emotionally perplexed. Ellington was neither money-driven or insisting on their prescribed way of executing a funeral. Mr. Hunter knew how to make the customer happy by meeting the important needs first and foremost. Funerals and Weddings are deep emotional times, so businesses pry on innocence and emotional state of people, so if one isn’t careful one may be easily be duped. Now another great aspect about Ellington was that they exceeded our expectations by going above and beyond in gathering of content for the service and execution of funeral service. The funeral home was very technology savvy so when I needed video tributes and pictures all in one file they had the capabilities to handle the breath of work. Mr. Hunter made the services rendered about caring for our family and was so accommodating. He was always a step ahead in always finding ways to meet our needs. Also, going to great lengths of providing items out of their normal services for our family. More importantly, my late mother looked absolutely spectacular and thanks to Mr. Hunter for listening to my needs on how my mother likes to look on special occasion and he also added his special touch, which brought the class and elegance needed for a beautiful send off for my mother. In all of this great ordeal and pain of losing a love one I gained a friend in Mr. Hunter and I wouldn’t ever forget the love and respect he showed to me and my family. Even until this day he checks in on me and family. This shows his great kindness to humanity and not just a business service or a job to him. For this I will always recommend his services to people needing a beautiful funeral service for their love one. On behalf of me and family we express our sincere thanks to you Derek Hunter. All your efforts are greatly appreciated!!

    thumb tracey quarshie
    5/25/2019

    review rating 5  Wow! Professional and caring is the understatement of the year! Thank you Derek for being there for us, I have never expected that much from any funeral house!!! Wow! I still can’t believe how amazing you’ve been to us Andy my wounded family during time of need! We all need money and care to make more, but you know how to be professional and almost not caring about being paid!

    thumb Basim Ayoub
    5/23/2019

    review rating 5  We could not have asked for better service from Derek and the Team of Ellington Funeral Services. They were very helpful at every point from initial contact and even after services were completed. They are very competitively priced, no hidden fees, and top notch facilities. We highly recommend! Thank you Derek and Team for making this experience as best as possible!

    thumb Fernando Maisonett
    3/24/2019

    review rating 5  My father left this life on January 7th 2018. My parents met with Derek in 2014 and prepared everything which made his preparations so much easier on me. To know what he wanted for for his passing onto to the next and Derek had all the information my dad had told him of what he wanted done. Derek and Tommy were very supportive and the facility was impeccable. They went above and beyond to make the viewing, service and burial the way he wanted it to be. It is never easy loosing a parent which I am finding out, but knowing I did what my dad wanted did ease my mind. Much love and thanks go to Darek, Tommy and staff for their support during this difficult time.

    thumb Kat Rathbun
    1/24/2019

    review rating 5  My brother and I, and our whole family would like to thank Derek and the team of the Ellington Funeral Service, for the amazing job you did on short notice. The kindness and professionalism provided by Derek, Tommy and the team was remarkable, covered every detail perfectly, and eased the process for us. In this very sad time of our life you gifted us with a serene memory of saying goodbye to our father. We also would like to thank Avery’s Flowers for the beautiful arrangements for our father, grandparents and aunt. Thank you Derek, and the team of the Ellington Funeral Service for guiding us through this difficult time of our life. You left us with a feeling of love and peace in our hearts. Sincerely, Lisa Psomadakis

    thumb Lisa Kaufman
    1/21/2019

    review rating 5  The loss of my father in-law was very hard for me and my wife Renee but the compassion and professionalism shown by Derek Hunter made this experience so much easier. Right from the start we were treated like family and felt like he was truly genuine and not just a salesman at some corporate owned funeral home. We knew immediately we had made the right decision. Derek and Anthony as well as the rest of the staff went above and beyond to make this tough time in our lives as easy as it could have possibly been. Derek is such a natural at this. No doubt this was his calling. We are so grateful to Derek, Anthony and Ellington for all they did and continued to do by checking in with my wife occasionally just to see how she is doing. Now that is VIP service for sure! I would also like to give a big Thanks to Avery's flowers for the wonderful job he did with the casket spray as well as most of the other flowers. Everyone went on and on about how beautiful they were. He is on-site at Ellington which made it an almost effortless process.

    thumb Kevin Kyseth
    9/17/2018

    review rating 5  After comparing prices with Ken Poe Funeral Service, Hankins and Whittington and McEwen Funeral Services, I found Ellington Funeral Service to be the most affordable in the Charlotte area with the nicest and largest facility. Also, after doing some research I learned that Hankins and Whittington is owned by a corporation out of FL and McEwen Funeral Service is owned by SCI out of Houston, TX. Ellington Is actually family owned by the original McEwen family which made it more impressive to me. My point in, check around on prices and who you are dealing with. Like me, you want someone with compassion and ties to the community and not just looking to "up" sell you and get a paycheck.

    thumb Wayne Parris
    8/09/2018

    review rating 5  Losing my father was one of the hardest things I've ever had to face. The level of care and compassion shown by everyone at Ellington was beyond anything I've ever experienced. Derek went above and beyond any expectation I had. He treated my entire family as if we were his own. He is truly an amazing person. I can not say enough about Derek. Some people are made to be in certain professions and Derek is one of those people. He took wonderful care of each of us but especially my father. He turned a horrible moment of my life and made it absolutely beautiful with every detail. So greatful for Derek and Ellington. I could not have made it through without them.

    thumb Maria Kotrotsios
    7/01/2018

    review rating 5  One of my relatives passed and this fineurel home did a great job working with my uncle, he was so broken over his wife's passing... Thanks guys.

    thumb Alexis Rose
    6/06/2018

    review rating 5  We, as a family, were very satisfied with the services provided by Ellington. The staff (especially Mr. Hunter) was beyond helpful, very friendly, and most importantly, sensitive and accommodating during our time of need.

    thumb Nickoleta
    5/15/2018